Daenerys: Mother of Dragons, Khaleesi & Breaker of Chains – All her titles


As Daenerys’ character evolved from dependent to independent, feisty and wise, so did her titles. When she introduces herself to Khal Moro at the beginning of the sixth season, she mouths a string of titles in Dothraki which translate to:

“Daenerys Stormborn of the House Targaryen, First of Her Name, the Unburnt, Queen of Mereen, Queen of the Andals and the Rhoynar  and the First Men, Khaleesi of the Great Grass Sea, Breaker of Chains, and Mother of Dragons.”

  • Daenerys Stormborn
  • Of the House Targaryen
  • First of her Name
  • Queen of Mereen
  • Queen of the Andals and the Rhoynars and the First Men
  • Khaleesi of the Great Grass Sea
  • Breaker of Chains
  • Mother of Dragons & The Unburnt

Where did Khaleesi get all these titles from and what on earth (or Westeros) do they mean?

Daenerys Stormborn

Daenerys was born in Dragonstone amidst one of the fiercest summer storms. This is why she is called Daenerys Stormborn.

Of the House Targaryen

House Targaryen is one of the Great Houses of Westeros and Daenerys was born into it. Hence the title, “Of the House Targaryen.”

First of her Name

This simply means that the name “Daenerys” is unique and no other ruler in Westeros has had her name before.

Queen of Mereen

When Daenerys learns that her efforts to free slaves in Astapor and Yunkai have gone waste,

she stays back in Mereen to get some “queen practice”, thereby earning her the title, “Queen of Mereen.”

Queen of the Andals and the Rhoynars and the First Men

The First Men were the natives of Westeros, whereas the Andals came to Westeros from a place called Andalos in Essos. It was alleged that the Andals captured most of south Westeros because of visions that they got from the  “Seven-Faced Gods.”

However, North Westeros wasn’t captured by the Andals. So, most of the people in the North are still First Men.

Like the Andals, the Rhoynars were also from Essos. After facing a crushing defeat against the Valyrians, the survivors fled to South Westeros and made it their new home.

Therefore, the current population of Westeros is comprised of three main ethnicities- The Andals, The Rhoynars, and the First Men.

By calling herself the “The Queen of Andals and the Rhoynar and the First Men”, Daenerys exerts her birthright as a noble lady from the House of Targaryen over all of Westeros.

Khaleesi of the Great Grass Sea

After burning all the Khals alive at the Temple of Dosh Khaleen and walking out unharmed, Daenerys assumes command of the remaining Khalasars after they all kneel before her as a symbol of loyalty and awe.

Since the Dothraki inhabit the Great Grass Sea region (which gets its name because of the swathes of grassy plains that resemble the sea), Daenerys is called the Khaleesi of the Great Grass Sea.

Breaker of Chains

This is a title that the free people of Astapor, Mereen, and Yunkai bestowed upon Daenerys for freeing them.

Mother of Dragons & The Unburnt

Daenerys receives three petrified dragon eggs as a gift on her wedding. When Khal Drogo dies, Daenerys throws the eggs into the fire and walks into the funeral pyre of her husband where she remains for one whole night.

The next day, in addition to walking out naked but unscathed, she also has three dragons (they were thought to be extinct) because of  which she earns the names, “The Unburnt”, and “Mother of Dragons”

Fitting titles for a fierce ruler, don’t you think?

Facebook Comments